Sick cook…

I’ve rather settled into this posting on Mondays and Thursdays. 2 Times a week is good for now, unless I suddenly get some kosher company sponsoring me to do it more often. As I fight off a cold, I’m cheered up with Challahback Girl, a mash done by DJ BC of Gwen Stefani’s ‘Hollaback Girl’ and Frank Yankovick and His Yanks’ ‘Hava Nagila’. I’m suprised it’s so good, actually.

But, as I fight off the cold, it helps me remeber some of my classic cooking training growing up. The most popular of these would have to be my tuna casserole dish, a sure-fire KOSHER delight that’ll fill anyone up! Also, this article is to show all the different foods I’ve found that ARE kosher. My wife was surprised by this, and I think you will be, too!

Tuna Casserole

2 14 oz. cans of Amy’s Organic Cream of Mushroom Soup

2 bags of Lay’s Potato Chips (NO RIDGES! Just plain ol’ greasy chips!)

1 14 oz. can peas

4 3 oz. cans of Bumble Bee tuna

1 bag of No Yolks Egg Noodles, Broad or extra broad

1 block of Tillamook Kosher/Vegetarian Medium Cheddar cheese

Seasonings to taste

Start with preheating your over to 350 degrees F. As the oven heats up, take out a large saucepan.

Cook the egg noodles, drain, and return to pan.

Blend cream of mushroom soup, tuna, and peas all in saucepan over the cooked noodles and cook over low heat, stirring constantly until cooked.

As the tuna mixture cooks, this is where I add spices and the first part of cheese. Splitting the cheese block in half, I shred ALL the first half into the simmering mixture.

Turning down the heat to simmer just to keep it warm, I then add in a dash of garlic salt, a shaake of lemon pepper, and mabye some Mrs. Dash if I’m feeling saucy! The spice seasonings are entirely up to you, of course. (Don’t worry about adding kosher salt, there will be MORE than enough salt in the dish…)

As the cheesy mixture keeps warm, take out a large 9″ x 11″ glass casserole dish. Now, THIS is the fun part! Opening the first bag of chips, crunch up ALL the chips. Just mash them down with your hands until they’ve been reduced to salty crumbs. Now, coat the Bottom of the casserole with a nice, thick layer of chip crumbs.

Next, take the cheesy mix of nummy tuna goodness and pour that over the chip bed you just made. Get as MUCH as you can into the dish! Scrape the sides of the pan, if you must! This dish is too good to let go of scraps!

Next, we take up the remaining cheese. Remember how the first half went into the mix? Well, this other half is shedded onto the top of the casserole, covering up as MUCH as you possibly can!

After the casserole top is smothered in cheesy goodness, take the REMAINING chips and scatter them all over the top of the casserole, giving your dish a nice crispy topping!

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes and serve!

Now, before you ask why I said get TWO bags and not one, we all have lived in family households. Kids see chips, and they think that chips equal their snacks. Rather than having your chips ‘disappear’, I reccomend just getting two bags. That way, if both bags survive, YOU have something to nibble while the tuna casserole cooks up. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I LOVE cooking and eating it, and I’m sorry this article isn’t as long as my normal articles. Until Monday, Shalom and Good Cooking!

February 16, 2006. main courses, recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

