Steaks! Purim! Can it get any better?

First off, you can now reach the website thru http://www.renegadekosher.com/ for ease! I also now have a new e-mail address for food discussions & mailing lists! Also, I’m looking into KosherFest. I’m going to TRY to attend to give YOU, my readers, an in-depth look at the new kosher goodness coming out in 2007! Also, I’m working on a cookbook right now about the history & evolution of latkes. Basically everything you ever wanted to know about the tasty pancake, but were afraid to ask. On top of that, it’ll have over 100 different latke recipes, from classic potato to rather exotic differations.

Now, today is Steak and a BJ Day, and today is also Purim! I’m the happiest married jew in the world! *does a dance* Hava Nagilah! Hava Nagilah! My two favorite holidays! Together! This is better than Chrismukkah last year! So, in honor of the greatness, today we’re going to look at a nice dinner that is both traditional for Purim AND will fulfill S&BJ’s scared meaning…

Steak Over Black Beans

1 pound strip steaks, about 1/2 inch to an inch inch thick (Also known as the Kansas City Strip steak)
3 cups black beans
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup canned beef broth
1 onion, diced
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
2-3 tablespoons olive oil

In a large pan with high sides, heat the olive oil before adding the onion and garlic. Toss in the pan until cooked easily.

From here, slowly stir in the beans, beef broth, tomatoes, and the salk and pepper before letting it simmer for about 15-20 minutes.

As the beans cook, take the steak and lightly grill it. I use my George Foreman grill, myself, for this dish, but an open coals or a pan fry works well, as all. If you happen to want to use a dry rub, that’s fine. Me, for this, I may just use a dash of Wostershire Sauce, myself. Either way, you want to cook the steak to your personal tastes. Me, I go with medium well. (Remember, though, that ALL the blood must be cooked out to be kosher!)

When the steak is done, the beans should be done simmering, as well. Turn them off and take them off the heat to thicken.

As the beans thicken, take the steak and slice them on the short sides, slicing them into 1/4 inch filets.

From here, it’s really easy. In shallow bowls, fill them with the beans. Then, atop the beans, arrainge the steak filets. I usually do a small circle atop the beans of overlapping strips, myself. This dish yields 4 servings, usually.

Now, I hope this gets the creative juices flowing for you all tonight. I you prefer, you could allways just derve up a nice porterhouse with some dairy-free margarine and/or dairy-free sour cream and a side of green beans, as well. Now, I know some of you are asking, why the beans? Well, on Purim we’re supposed to eat bean dishes to remind us that This is meant to remind us that Esther would not eat anything at the court of the King that wasn’t kosher, so she mainly ate peas and beans. With that in mind, seriously, have a good holiday today. Until next time, Shalon and Good Cooking!

March 14, 2006. advice, main courses, recipes.

2 Comments

  1. jabbett replied:

    If you end up heading to Kosherfest, let me know — you’re more than welcome to join up with the Kosher Blog posse. (And if we can get a good group together, maybe our after-show meet-up dinner can be a bit more adventurous this time around. Tasting menu, anyone?)

    Chag kasher v’sameach!

  2. What is it with me & Beans on Purim? « Renegade Kosher Cooking replied:

    […] to write about? What kind of recipe can I do that you’ll not read everywhere? Last year I did Steak over Black Beans since it was sharing ANOTHER holiday… But what to do this year? What dish can I write about […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

