The cleaning!!!!!!!!!!!

When it rains, y’know? Atop of being sick (It came back just as I thought I was feeling better. Bleugh.), I’m without internet for quite a while. While this saddens me greatly, as I do miss sharing culinary kosher tidbits with my dear readers, it does give me time to research other culinary avenues. After all, when all you can do is lie in bed, it’s a GREAT excuse to read cookbooks and culinary textbooks for ideas! In all seriousness, though, Passover is soon coming upon us. Rather than go over the food preperations today, I wanted to look more at what food you have to get OUT of your house for Passover, mainly cleaning for chametz.

I feel for Jewish women, this time of year – especially those with families! All the cleaning and cleaning and cleaning… Women, I sympathize! As a house husband, I’m the one who has been doing all that fun cleaning. Of course, having just MOVED is a blessing as we were able to rid ourselves of much chametz. But, even in that, it was still a chore. And no, I do NOT reccomend moving just before Pesach… It is NOT fun.

Now, for those of you that may not know, Chametz means levened bread. ANY type of levened bread… From Bagels to bread crumbs, it ALL has to go. Why? Well, in Exodus 12:19, the Torah commands: “For seven days, leaven may not be found in your home.” The law is so strict that the punishment for eating chametz on Pesach is karet — being cut off from the Jewish people. Now, I love my people! I don’t wanna be cut off from them! So, I, like a lot of Jews, clean.

But how hard is it, you may ask? Well, you clean and clean, and find a few crumbs from that old wedding cake… Or remember that delicious bagel and shmear you ate by the com puter a few weeks back and crumbs got in the keyboard? Or remember that garlic bread in the back of the freezer? You start to see WHY this is such a chore.

Now, at the end of all this, there are two ‘games’ we can do. One is to use a feather to symbolically ‘clean’ the last bit of chametz from the house, thus getting the kids involved (Gasp! Kids! Cleaning! It’s unheard of!). Also, we set aside a small piece of bread that we’ll burn away symbolically as part of the Passover rites. But, this is alkl stuff most know from growing up.

Now, for me, there’s some chametz I can’t bear to get rid of… Rare pastry bases and flours with yeasts for cooking that I just don’t want to loose. These, I tape up in a cabinet, seal the cabinet, and just don’t open that door during pesach. What?!? Don’t give me that look, we ALL do it! Anyhow, all it all, I wish everyone a good time searching thru every nook and cranny for every last crumb of chametz right now. I swear, children & gentile roomies love to stash this stuff in the wierdest places. Why a GROWN ADULT has a half-eaten sandwich under the sofa…

*sighs* Sorry, where was I? Ah, yes. So, this article may not have been too much about cooking, but I just wanted everyone to know I’m suffering with you all. But, to keep with cooking, let’s get rid of some of that chametz via COOKING!!! Because, as we know, if they EAT it, you don’t have to throw it out!

Bread Pudding

6 slices Texas toast bread, day-old (Or 12-14 slices recular white bread)
4 Eggs, separated
1 pinch Salt
1 cup Raisins
6 tbsp Sugar
3 cups Milk
1 tbsp Vanilla extract or flavor
1/2 stick butter – melted
1 tsp Cinnamon

Rip the bread into pieces before tossing with melted butter and a 1/4 cup of milk.

Place in a large casserole dish.

Beat sugar and egg yolks together until well blended; add remaining milk and mix well.

Blend in vanilla, cinnamon, and raisins.

Pour mixture over bread, then place dish in pan of water and bake in 350 F. oven for 40 to 50 min. or until knife comes out clean.

Beat egg whites until foamy.

Add salt; gradually add 2 tbs. sugar and continue beating at high speed until stiff peaks form. Spread whites on top of pudding.

Return to oven, raise heat to 375 F. and bake until meringue is brown.

So, chametz bad, this time of year. Let’s get rid of the chametz! Boo on chametz! But, I do sympathize with getting rid of it. And YES, I will share my seder menu when I have more internet access! Until then, Shalom and Good Cooking… And woe be to the poor soul who brings more bread into my house! I will give them such a pinch!!!

April 5, 2006. dessert, recipes.

One Comment

  1. the chocolate lady replied:

    There’s a saying in Yiddish:

    peysekh-lebn iz a shverer, ober a reyner yontif>

    Our beloved Passover is a difficult holiday, but a clean one.–>

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

