Gluten-Free is okay by me!

I love Matisyahu, so I was excited to see Matisyahu has a new contest going thru his site. The winner wins an XBOX 360, a copy of Youth, NHL ’06, & get to play him a game. Also, he’s just announced new concert dates in August in Santa Barbera & Los Angeles. Oh, man! I am so going to try my hardest to make the LA show! Woo! Preorders just started thru his site if anyone wants to go! I am SO hoping tickets are still available for the wife & I when we next get paid…

Now I like requests, you all know that. I was requested to come up with a kosher Philly Cheesesteak, and I did. I was requested to do some Spanish recipes, and I did. My latest request is no different. On a Jewish Mailing list I subscribe to, I was requested to come up with some gluten-free KOSHER recipes. Now, as to what a gluten-free diet is, we look to the wikipedia article on it: ‘A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including Kamut and spelt), barley, rye, and triticale.’ This also includes most beers, but wines and distilled alcohols are fine. There are many health reasons for such a diet, and I feel its a good cause to dedicate an article to.

Let’s start with a look at some Kosher products on the market that are gluten free, to start with. First, the Gluten-Free Pantry has a whole section dedicated to Kosher Gluten-Free products. Secondly, for a taste of summer, you can get Kosher Glatt corn dogs from S’Better Farms that are Gluten-Free. S’Better Farms also has other delicious products all Kosher and Gluten-Free, and I highly recommend them. There’s also http://glutenFree.co.il which is a site out of Israel that specializes in Kosher Gluten-free food for those in the Jewish community that are in need of it.

Now, as for a handy addition to Gluten-free baked goods, I suggest guar gum. It can be bought in most Whole Foods and other natural grocery stores. It will help keep your baked goods from crumbling, and is an excellent addition to ANY gluten-free bread. Of course, speaking of gluten-free products brings us to something that we, as a culture, love. I speak of my first love, Challah. This recipe comes from Sara at Celiac.com, and I modified it slightly to use Guar gum instead, as I’ve found it easier to find, as well as cheaper than other alternatives.

Gluten-Free Challah

1 1/2 cups cornstarch
3/4 cup white rice flour
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup tapioca flour
3 T almond meal
1 T guar gum
1 package red star quickrise yeast
1 t salt

1 cup warm water (120 degrees)
2 T dry potato flakes
1/4 cup oil
1/4 cup honey
3 eggs + 1 egg yolk

Mix dry ingredients in heavy duty mixer

Dissolve potato flakes in warm water, and add slowly to mixer

Add oil and honey

Add eggs and mix until blended

Beat on High speed for 2 minutes – batter should look like pudding

Spoon batter into greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pan (I spray with Pam, and use dark Teflon pan)

Smooth top surface of batter using WET hand

Cover pan with plastic wrap (spray underside of plastic sheet with Pam so it won’t stick to batter as it rises)

Let rise in warm place for about 35 minutes or until reaches top of pan
(I turn my oven on warm for 30-60 seconds, turn off, then use as warm place for rising)

Using fine serrated knife, cut 2 diagonal lines across top of bread about 1/8 inch deep (lets steam escape)

Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 45 minutes (cover with foil after 20 minutes if top gets too brown)

Transfer to wire cooling rack, rub top with margerine while still hot.

I’ve also found that after the first warm resting, you can also cut the dough into three parts and braid it into the traditional challah shape before baking. Afterwards, if you wish, you could give it the traditional egg wash as described in my challah article. Now, many gravys call for adding flour to thicken it. For the gluten-free friends, I recommend that for every 2 Tablespoons of Wheat Flour, substitute 1 Tablespoon of Corn Starch.

Likewise, for other baking recipes, when wheat flour is called for, for every 2 cups of wheat flour, you can use 1 1/2 Cups Brown Rice Flour (Or another gluten-free flour) and 1/4 Cup Tapioca Starch (or similar gluten-free starch). The balance needs to be adjusted slightly for each recipe, and the gluten-free flour should go well with the baked good. (No need in using a bitter flour in a desset, after all!), but the balance is usually the same. Just remember to add in Guar gum to help it from falling apart! I hope this helps those who need a gluten-free diet remain kosher, so until next time… Shalom and Good Cooking.

June 7, 2006. advice, bread, Gluten-Free, recipes.

One Comment

  1. Anonymous replied:

    Wow you are the first site that offers info for not only making GF challah, but using a mixer instead of a bread machine.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

