A Look at Kitchen Tools: Knives

So, another week, another article. First off, I added a side bar of blogs/sites I visit & read regurally. Just to help those know the types of things I’m into. Now, I’m taking a departure from recipes this week and focusing on cooking tools. Specifically, knives. Knives are a tool any cook or chef worth their salt should look into, and their are many different brands out there. I have quite a few brands, depending on what I’m cooking, and would like to pass along a few suggestions that I’ve found useful. WARNING! The following article is my opinion ONLY, and should be taken as thus.

The first of my preferred knives are Messermeister brand knives. Don’t get me wrong, I do like Wusthof brand knives, but Messermeister knives just give me a little something more. These stainless steel knives are excellent in chopping meat, as they have heavyweightt added behind them as well as a beveled blade that helps slice easierthrou the meat & tendons. Also, they fit very well in the hand, and don’t cause as many callouses that those in the culinary world usually get. On top of that, the blade goes ALL the way to the hilt. This is excellent as with some knives, when you sharpen them, they start to have a small gap at the end. Because of this, it’s harder to rock & cut when chopping. The folks at Messermiester have really revolutionized the blades for cutting meat, in my opinion.

Another excellent knife to use are Kyocera ceramic knives. The drawbacks are that they have to be sent in every two years for sharpening, and the fact that they are VERY fragile and can’t be dropped or you risk shattering it. The plus side is tat these are some of the sharpest knives you’ll ever have the chance to use. Plus, being ceramic instead of metal, these blades keep their edge for an amazingly long time. With the added sharpness, I use these knives as my dairy knives. They help me in carving up hard and soft cheeses without crumbling or mushing, and they are an excellent addition if you can afford them.

For fruits, vegetables, and tofu products I use Japanese knives. I really like Yoshikin‘s Global brand of knives. The solid, one-piece knives help keep contamination to a minimum, and the blades fit very well in your hand. The only warning is to NOT use the blades for meat, and to be careful of the handle getting wet. Theknifee handlesgett a little slippery, thus why I recommend using them just for fruits and vegetables without lots of practice. But, the sand in the handle does balance the blade perfectly, thus making it an excellent cutting tool. You do need to get a special water stone for sharpening the blade, though, due to the softer steel used in making the knives. But it’s not to hard once you learn to use them.

There are many other knives out there, so the knives you choose, in the end, are entirely up to you. Just because I’m a knifesnobb doesn’t mean you have to be one! Half the joy in exploring cooking is finding the cooking tools that fit you best! And remember, kitchen knives are JUST that – tools. As such, they should be used with the utmost care. I recommend, if you invest in good knives, to take some cooking classes on handling and caring for knives so you don’t ruin them accidentally. Anyhow, until next time, Shalom and good cooking!

June 28, 2006. advice.

3 Comments

  1. Gas Grills On Sale replied:

    I was told to try one of those new hi impact ceramic knifes but they just seem a little too different. Do you have any though on these types of knifes?

  2. Mariano replied:

    Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Finding the time and actual effort to generate a top notch article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.

  3. whey isolate replied:

    I go to see every day some sites and blogs to read articles,
    except this weblog provides quality based articles.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

