Oh, my word! He did a Brisket article!

It’s July finally! 24 days until I start blogathon 2006! Those who wish to can sponsor me via this link! I’m currently working hard to pre-write the cooking part of my posts, and will be doing a whopping 48 articles in 24 hours! So much kosher food, you won’t know what to do with it all! I’ll be giving away Kosher cookbooks to some sponsors during the blogathon, and I have a SPECIAL contest for those in SoCal: sponsor me, and you win ALL your Sabbath meals prepared by me for one weekend. ^^ If the winner is gentile, that equals one day’s worth of meals all cooked for the winner. Imagine, a learning chef preparing your family’s breakfast, lunch, AND dinner! A day of good food filling your home and stomach! What a prize for only shlepping out your wallet to help a charity!

But for now we look to this week’s article, wherein I’m doing something I swore I’d never do: Brisket. We all know brisket, yes? The bland, tasteless roast murdered in kitchens all over the world. Served up in thin slices, this poor meat is then drenched in watery gravy and pan-fried onions. Ugh… On behalf of the beef industry, I wag my finger at this poor disaster of a meal.

BUT, it doesn’t have to be this way! No, my readers, this week we’ll look at some different methods of cooking a truly versatile cut of meat that, when given a chance, can be one of the most welcome additions to any dinner table! To start this, I show my Irish roots with Corned beef and cabbage. This dish originally started as a salted pork shank and cabbage, and was served in the early 1700’s as the traditional Easter Sunday dinner. We’re not sure when, but the recipe was changed to corned beef and cabbage, and in America is not the traditional dinner for most on St. Patrick Day. The gentile roots aside, this is still a delicious dinner that is filling, festive, and brings good cheer to any table.

Corned Beef and Cabbage (Plus a few other veggies)

5 pd. Front Cut Brisket
1 small head of cabbage, shredded
2 cups baby carrots
2 cups baby red potatoes sliced in half
1/2 cup sweet onion, diced
3 T pickling spices

Taking your largest slow cooker, put in the following: the brisket, the cabbage, the pickling spices, and the onions.

Fill with water until the ingredients are covered fully.

Cover and cook on LOW for 8 hours, stirring every hour or so to mix the ingredients.

When you reach the 6 hour mark, stir in the potatoes and carrots and continue cooking.

When the 8 hours are up, pick out the brisket and set aside on a platter.

Taking the slow cooker’s crock in hand, strain the water away from the vegetables before setting them in a serving bowl.

Carve brisket & serve with vegetables on the side (Don’t worry, the pickling spices are safe to eat.).

There, see? With just some modifications of ingredients, we took brisket and turned it on it’s ear! Oh, but we’re not done, yet! Oh, no! Not at all! You see, next up is a twist on a southern favorite! Down south, a lot of people enjoy pulled pork at barbecues, and I realized how easily brisket pulls apart. Keeping this in mind, I did some experimenting and came up with my OWN variation to be enjoyed in Jewish homes for barbecues, picnics, and potlucks!

Pulled Beef

5 pd Front Cut Brisket
6 6 oz cans tomato paste
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup diced white or sweet onion
3 T Worchrshire Sauce
2 T Liquid Smoke
1 t Hot Sauce (optional)
2 Cups Water

Mix together all the ingredients EXCEPT the brisket and onions in a large bowl and stir until blended.

Setting the brisket & onions in the slow cooker, pour the sauce over the meat and cook on HIGH for 3-4 hours. Stir every 30 minutes, and add water in 1/4 cup increments at stirrings if it starts to get dry and/or thick.

Once the meat is nice and tender, pull it OUT of the slow cooker to a platter. Using two forks, pull the meat apart until it’s all shredded.

Pour the meat BACK into the slow cooker and stir until blended fully.

Set the cooker on LOW and cook for another 30 minutes to an hour, letting the now shredded beef mingle in with all the sauce.

Serve over buns or bread ala Sloppy Joes, or on the side with other side dishes.

A warning to parents, this dish is VERY messy, but it’s also VERY good! I recommend corn on the cob and potato salad as nice sides for this dish, to give it more of a picnic or summer feel. I do hope this trip thro some of brisket’s other uses have shown that serving this cut of beef need not cause groans at the dinner table. With a little experimentation, this long abused roast can be a dish many come to enjoy, rather than tolerate. Thank you for reading this week, and as usual… Shalom and Good Cooking!

July 5, 2006. main courses, recipes.

8 Comments

  1. Marci replied:

    Glad they finally got smart and added Shabbos hours.

  2. Renegade Kosher replied:

    I as well! Feel free to show your support by sponsoring me! My charity this year needs all the help it can get!

  3. jabbett replied:

    Have you ever kept the pulled beef going in the crockpot overnight until Shabbat lunch? I’ve always wanted to do a pulled chicken or beef, but never had the guts to experiment with the 17 hours of “keep warm.”

    If you’re interested in another great way to enjoy brisket, I’d recommend Cook’s Illustrated’s brisket recipe from the January/February ’05 issue. (They found that the key to moist, clean slices is letting the cooked brisket sit in its juices overnight before slicing.)

    P.S. Nice to know another kosherophile with Irish roots!

  4. Renegade Kosher replied:

    I’m currently experimenting with ways to safely keep it stewing in the slow cooker (We can’t say Crock pot ’cause it’s copyrighted! Nuuuuuuu!) for that long. I do HIGHLY reccomend using slow cooker liners for ANY cooking over a long period of time. It keeps the black burnt stuff away, the cleanup is a snap, and it helps make things a LOT easier!

  5. Silverbrow replied:

    Don’t be so quick to dismiss salt beef. Done well it’s fantastic and not a million miles away from a pot au feu. As long as you keep it moist and don’t overcook it you can’t ask for much more, especially when served with decent chips/fries.

    You might want a variation on the theme by trying out bollito misto in which you get to use the beef, tongue and chicken. You use the broth as a starter and add-in kreplach for substance.

    You can add wurscht to bollito misto as a not ideal stand-in for the traditional cottechino (pigs trotter) – a bit treyf.

  6. Renegade Kosher replied:

    I know I shouldn’t dismiss salt beef, but I just see it MURDERED on so many tables… It almost makes me cry. When I started, I swore to my wife & myself that I’d NEVER do a brisket article, just because it’s not the feel of the blog – trying new things & experimenting with kosher cooking. But I do digress… I have made & had excellent brisket, and I’m sure as I go thru culinary school, I’ll be exposed to even more good food! ^^ So, who knows? I may turn around and start LIKING traditional salted beef brisket again…–>

  7. Gardeniarpg replied:

    Groovy, man! It’s cool that you’ve got something for brisket!
    I’m also a big fan of meat slathered in barbecue sauce. Got any sauce recipes?

  8. Phil replied:

    What a great blog – there’s heaps of good reading to be had here, plenty of good food to try out. If you’re ever in need of some mashed potato recipes then swing by my blog http://www.makesomemash.blogspot.com – you might find a good side dish for your Corned Beef and Cabbage

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

