It’s almost time…

So, the ego in me is giddy to see I have over 100 hits on Google. ^^ Also with Comic-Con happening this week/weekend, my geekiness is on a new high. Kevin Smith, baby! *geek dances* So, yeah, I’m in a good mood! I’m still collecting sponsors for Blogathon starting at 9 PM PST on the 29th. If you haven’t Sponsored Me yet, feel free to! If you don’t want to go thro the site, just e-mail me the pledge and I’ll add it as an anonymous bid. ^^ Let’s see… I have the AIM name ‘RenegadeKosher’ now, and an AIM sidebar on the blog now so people can chat with me during the 24 hours. Also, I’ve added more blogs/sites I read to my sidebar’s link list, so feel free to check out what keeps my brain rolling.

Now, I will NOT be doing any recipes next week or the week AFTER Blogathon. I figure 48 articles can tide my readers over, can’t they! And even a foodie like me will need a break after blogathon! But, for today, I want to share a snack I do when I’m wanting a taste of down south: Boiled peanuts. Now, boiled peanuts are an addictive yet good snack that can easily be customized, and are healthy, to boot! This simple dish also is great for potlucks, picnics, Sabbath snacks, sport parties, and much more. Nothing says Summer to me more than a pot full of these peanuts waiting to be nibbled on. And now, you can make these surprisingly easy to make treats in your home!

Boiled Peanuts

5 pds. Uncooked Peanuts in their shell
4 T Kosher Salt
1 4 oz. Can sliced peppers OR 4 oz. of your favorite fresh Hot Peppers, sliced (optional)

Taking the peanuts, rinse them in a colander until the water runs clear.

Take the peanuts and pour them into your slow cooker (Gee, you’d think I love slow cookers, as often as I use them!).

Pout peppers and salt over the peanuts, then cover the mix with water until the peanuts are fully submerged with an extra inch or so to spare.

Cook on LOW for 8-10 hours (Or on HIGH for 4 hours). For added salt & spice, turn off and leave covered overnight so the peanuts soak up every bit of salt & the optional peppers.

To serve, just use a slotted spoon or colander spoon to scoop out the peanuts into a bowl. Eating is easy! Just pop the nut into your mouth, suck the nuts out of the shell, and then spit out the shells into your shell bowl. Yes, it’s a bit messy, but it’s fun none the less! It’s good to know that even Miss Manners thinks spitting out peanut shells and watermelon seeds is perfectly good manners. Well, as long as its not AT someone! Anyhow, with this last recipe, I bid you all farewell until 9 PM PST on the 29th of July! To those who read me via the Livejournal feed, among other RSS feeds, I apologize for the coming swamping you’ll feel during Blogathon. But understand that it will be for a good cause. Until after Shabbat on the 29th, Shalom and Good Cooking…

July 18, 2006. recipes, snacks.

6 Comments

  1. Beth Zen Foodism replied:

    Hello from a fellow San Diego food blogger!

  2. Renegade Kosher replied:

    I’m not the only one? *shock* Wow, how’d you find my humble spot on the net, if I may ask? No matter how, welcome and feel free to drop by during Blogathon 2006 this weekend! ^^

  3. Holly replied:

    Hi there – I am blogging on the Sabbath schedule, too, so I am glad to e-meet you. Good luck!

  4. Renegade Kosher replied:

    Great to meet you! Hey, your school doesn’t have a culinary department, does it? Or at least studies on kashrut law? Good luck, and look forward to the radio stream I’ll be starting a 9 AM EST until the end of the Shabbat schedule!

  5. cultivate peace replied:

    See you in a few!

  6. cultivate peace replied:

    28th, 29th what’s the difference?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

