RK goes SCOTTISH!

Firefox crashed on me, so now I’m using Opera! Now, visit this blog and this blog for two other Shabbat hour bloggers! If there are more, let me know & I’ll pimp you! ^^ I’m also in the Blogathon Radio Chat while it’s still active… So, yeah! I’m still here!

Now this recipe comes to us from The Capitol Scot, and is a Kosher Haggis recipe followed by a Kosher Clapshot recipe! If you don’t know what Haggis is, it’s like Kishka, but better! ^_^ Anhow, enjoy his tasty recipe! I have made this for SCA events, and NO ONE CAN TELL IT’S KOSHER!

Kosher Haggis

1 clootie (means a little cloth). A plain linen dish towel would be an acceptable substitute.
2 lb. dry oatmeal
1 lb. chopped mutton fat, rendered, or suet, which is the cleanest fat on the animal’s body.
1 to 1 1/2 lb. lamb liver, boiled and minced
2 cup mutton stock
1 large chopped onion
1/2 t cayenne pepper
1/2 t allspice
1/2 t salt
1/2 t pepper
2 t soy sauce

1. Toast oatmeal slowly until crisp.

2. Mix all ingredients (except clootie) together; add stock.

3. Fill clootie to just over half full, press out air, sew up securely.

4. Have ready a large pot of boiling water.

5. Boil slowly for 4 to 5 hours.

6. Serve with Clapshot, which will be in a later article!

Now, just for the newcomers, I’m doing this for Blogathon 2006! If you haven’t yet, Sponsor Me! 6 down, and too many to go! Shalom & Good Cooking!

July 29, 2006. Blogathon 2006, main courses, recipes.

5 Comments

  1. labrynth replied:

    Here’s another Sabbath blog http://www.babygotblog.com =)

  2. Cultivate-peace replied:

    Great!

    I’m Scottish

  3. Rickie replied:

    …kosher…haggis…

    You, my friend, are truly a miracle worker.

  4. cultivate peace replied:

    Anything for us veggies in the near future?

  5. Renegade Kosher replied:

    Yes, I’ll have viggie coming up next article! Trust me, you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

