Challenge #2!

I have recieved my Next challenge: Beef Stroganoff! This is a staple in most middle to lower class homes. In everything from Hamburger Helpers to pre-frozen, this dish is in EVERY Gentile kitchen in America at some point. Mixing meat (beef) and dairy (The cream soup and sour cream), this dish is the epitome of un-kosher. So, let’s see what I can do to it…

KOSHER ‘Beef’ Stroganoff

1 cup Beef-flavored Textured Vegetable Protien (TVP)
1 small onion, chopped
1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 10 3/4 ounces can cream of mushroom soup, condensed
4 ounces mushroom stems and pieces, drained
3/4 cup sour cream

Hydrate the TVP in HOT water per the package’s instructions.

In a skillet, brown the onion in a little olive oil.

Stir in garlic salt, pepper, soup and mushrooms.

Simmer covered, 15 to 20 minutes.

Stir in sour cream and TVP and heat – but do NOT boil. It’s a cream sauce, after all!

Serve over cooked egg noodles.

We have the second challenge in the bag… And we’ll announce challenge 3 when it arrives! 5 hours to go!!! Let’s do this! Remember the stream’s on http://goldenlash.dyndns.org:8000/ices and requests or wants to join the Shabbat Blo can be AIMed to ‘RenegadeKosher’! Don’t forget to sponsor me! See you in 30! Shalom and Good Cooking!

July 30, 2006. Blogathon 2006, main courses, recipes, Trayfe-to-Kosher Challenge.

5 Comments

  1. Binary Blonde replied:

    Dang, if I just substituted vegan sour cream, even *I* could try ‘Beef’ Stroganoff! I’ve never had it before, so this is super cool. šŸ™‚

    Thanks, RK!

  2. Kentucky Girl replied:

    Sounds good! I’ve never had it, but I’d try it if it weren’t like with gross stuff. šŸ˜€

    Thanks!

  3. Kentucky Girl replied:

    P.S-I think I’d add some green pepper, too. šŸ™‚

  4. khouria jen replied:

    you have my undying gratitude for figuring this out!

  5. NatKat replied:

    this is a very different way of cooking beef strog which I hadn’t ever heard off, I usually do it right from scratch but I’m gunna give this one a go. http://inthekitchencookn.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

