The Laws… Bum-bum-bum!!!

So in this article, let’s look at Kosher laws, shall we? A lot of this info comes from the OU’s own site, so it’s gotta be right! The Torah states that kosher mammals are those which chew their cud (ruminants) and are cloven-hoofed. The following animal species are among those considered to be Kosher: Addax, Antelope, Bison, Cow, Deer, Gazelle, Giraffe, Goat, Ibex and Sheep.

Now, the Torah does not enumerate specific characteristics to distinguish permitted and forbidden birds. Instead, it enumerates 24 forbidden species of fowl, while all other birds are considered to be kosher. Nonetheless, for various reasons, in practice we eat only those birds which have an established tradition that the species is kosher. In the United States, the only poultry accepted by mainstream kashrus organizations as kosher are chicken, turkey, duck and goose.

The Torah establishes two criteria to determine what are kosher fish. The fish must have fins and scales. The scales must be easily removable without damaging the skin. [Generally, scales on kosher fish are either thin, rounded and smooth-edged (cycloid) or narrow segments that are similar to teeth of a comb (ctenoid)]. All shellfish are prohibited. Unlike meat and poultry, fish requires no special preparation. Nonetheless, the fish scales must be visible to the consumer in order to establish the kosher status of the fish. Therefore, filleted or ground fish should not be purchased unless properly supervised, or the fillet has a skin tab with scales attached to the flesh. Furthermore, purchasing fish in a non-kosher fish store is problematic, even if the scales are intact, because the knives and tables are not kosher, and Rabbinic guidance should be sought. Rabbinic law prohibits consumption of fish and meat together. Processed and smoked fish products require reliable rabbinic supervision, as do all processed foods.

All fruits, vegetables and grains are permissible (Gen. 1:29), with the exception of grape products. Due to laws against eating or drinking anything offered to idols, and the fact that wine was often made for pagan offerings and celebrations, all wine and grape juice that is not made under Jewish supervision is prohibited.

Also, no siverware or dishes from meat products can touch dairy products. There are those that take it a step further and will even have seperate fridges for meat and dairy! Don’t laugh, I’ve seen it! So this means seperate cabinets for everything. I suggest, for those wanting to KEEP a Kosher Kitchen, you look into this article and read its step-by-step process. It’s tough to do, but in the end its worth it… So this is article #9! Love it! Need it! Sponsor it! Shalom and Good Cooking!

Advertisements

July 30, 2006. advice, Blogathon 2006.

One Comment

  1. LaDonna replied:

    Hello to you, too! I’m not Jewish (just had previous commitments), but this post was very interesting. I’ll keep checking back during the day to learn more!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback URI

%d bloggers like this: