Man, I think it’s Pumpkin Time!

So, as it gets closer to January, I worry greatly. See, January is when blog awards get chosen, and I’ll be watching The Jewish & Israel Blog Awards as well as the Bloggies very closely. True, blogging is done for yourself, not the rewards, but even getting NOMINATED means at least some other bloggers read you. And to win one… Damn, that’s like recognition from your fellow bloggers! Ah, well… Happier topics!

First, a thank you to those who could help the wife & I at the 13th hour. We were able to scrape together the needed cash, and our home is safe. Thank you, one and all. Now, as for recipes, I promised this would be an all-pumpkin article. What with Halloween coming up, American Thanksgiving, and the fall season in general, pumpkin recipes are the ONE thing that best represents this time of year. And besides, pumpkin recipes rock the house! So come with me… And you’ll see… A world of pure pumpkin appreciation! Let’s… Get… KOSHER!

The first recipe, a family classic from my mother, is pumpkin pie. First, preheat the over to 375 degrees F and set a cookie sheet inside to heat with the oven. Next add the following ingredients to a mixing bowl in the following order, remembering to blend in each ingredient: 2 slightly beaten eggs; 1 16 oz can solid packed pumpkin; 3/4 cup sugar; 1/2 teaspoon salt; 1 teaspoon cinnamon; 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger; 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves; 3 good shakes of nutmeg; 1 teaspoon vanilla; and 1 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk. Take 2 9 inch pie crusts and set them in pie dishes, then pour the batter between them. Set the pies on the cookie sheet in the oven, and bake in the center rack for 50-60 minutes, or until you can insert a knife in the center and pull it out clean. Cool on a cooling rack, then serve with whipped cream!

This next one is tasty! It’s Pumpkin Pancakes! First, I recommend making up some Kosher Homemade Bisquick mix. Once you have some, mix the following ingredients together into a batter: 2 cups Bisquick; 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon; 1 egg; 1 1/3 cups skim milk; and 3/4 cup pumpkin. Once mix, pour onto a griddle sprayed with a non-stick cooking spray. Cook for 3-4 minutes on one side, flip, and cook for another 3-4 minutes. These pancakes are EXCELLENT with maple syrup! Trust me!

Well, by now you’ve likely noticed my recipes so far have been very country. Well, remember, I’m from the Midwest! Where we believe if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! Keeping with this trend is our next recipe, Pumpkin Bread! First, mix together 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 2/3 cup vegetable oil in a bowl. Once mixed together, beat in 1 egg and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Afterwards, in a separate bowl, mix together 1 cup buttermilk and 1 teaspoon baking soda. Then, alternate adding small amounts of this mix and 2 1/2 cups All-purpose flour into the bowl while mixing. Finally, mix in 1 1/2 cups pumpkin and 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice. Pour the mix into two greased loaf pans as you preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. As a final touch, you can mix 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 teaspoon melted butter, and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon in a bowl, then coat the tops of the loaves with it. Either way, bake the loaves for 35-45 minutes on the center rack, then let them cool IN THEIR PANS on cooling racks before removing the loaves. This bread is to die for while still warm and shmeared with a little butter! ^^

Now, I have a little simple yet tasty recipe that works surprisingly well. What this is, my readers, is Pumpkin Crisp. First, take a 16 oz can of pumpkin pie filling and pour it into a 9×13 inch pan. Next, sprinkle 1 dry spike cake mix over the top of the pumpkin. Finally, take 1 stick butter, melted and pour it over the cake mix. Bake it on the center rack at 375 degrees F for 30 minutes. Let cool, then slice into squares and serve. This simple potluck stretcher is great when on a budget, or when you want to make something quick for a bake sale. The best part is ANY fruit pie filling works with this recipe! Try cherries and chocolate cake, apples and angel food cake, or any other variety. Just experiment to find your favorite!

So, lots of baked goods, but what about a SIDE dish? Or, better yet, a salad? What, you call me mad!? You say my pumpkin frenzy has gone too far!? Then, friends, you have yet to try Pumpkin Salad! First, we need 5 pounds fresh pumpkin, peeled, cut into chunks, and the seeds removed. These we want to steam in bamboo baskets for 20 minutes, or until cooked, but still firm. As these steam, boil 6 eggs until hard, then slice the eggs. Mix the steamed pumpkin chunks and egg slices together, then toss in 1 medium sweet onion, diced. As a final touch, use either 11 1/2 cup mayonnaise or 1 cup raspberry vinaigrette to flavor the salad. Cool in the fridge, then serve as a unique salad that is sure to have all your family asking what’s in the tasty salad!

So, are you experiencing pumpkin overdose yet? Are you reeling at all the uses for pumpkin? I’d write more, but I fear a pumpkin overdose, myself! So, I hope you enjoy your recipes, enjoy whatever you celebrate (Or don’t) at the end of October, and have a wonderful time! Until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

October 29, 2006. bread, dessert, recipes, salad.

4 Comments

  1. cultivate peace replied:

    Yummy Pumpkin Crisp!

  2. Utopia replied:

    I actually like a touch of ground allspice in my pie filling and just a pinch of ground cardamom. The cardamom sort of brings out the rest of the spices (especially the ginger, yum!) and goes really well with the pumpkin. To be truthful I spice by “feel” rather than hard measure, but I would say it is probably a 1/4-1/2tsp cardamom and 1/2 tsp allspice that I add.

    The pumpkin crisp looks quite nice. I am working on a new pumpkin bread recipe myself. I like the one I made last year, but I think I want to try something with pumpkin seeds this year as well as the mash pumpkin.

    I love all things squash and pumpkins just make me go tingly inside.

  3. Steven replied:

    Well, the Pumpkin Pie recipe was my mom’s, and you do NOT change your mother’s recipe when she reads your blog! But I agree, allspice & cardamom help lots! ^^ Also I pull the pies out about 5-10 minutes early, and let the leat of the pans finish cooking them so they don’t crack. I would have added Pumpkin soup, as well, but was about to OD on pumpkins!

    And yes, I also agree with spices for pies being by feel. I just give hard measurements here as it is to give an idea of where to go. ^^

  4. Enough Side Dishes to Fill ANY Table! « Renegade Kosher Cooking replied:

    […] But, as a final treat, we ALL know Turkey day is ALL about the desserts! So, since I already shared my pumpkin Pie Recipe, let’s go over a dessert before I leave! Let’s start out with Coconut Pie. Now this recipe is for TWO pies, so you have some for yourself, and some to be devoured by fisiting family and friends, all right? As A kindness, I’ll post this one as a ‘normal’ recipe, and those who want to steal ‘borrow’ it can just use my name. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

