Cookies and Video Games, oh my!

Plans for the restaurant have been scaled down, but are moving along at a nice pace. Education is going well, and I’ve gone back to a theme I really like: A geek-themed coffee shop & bakery. It’s an interesting idea, to say the least. Seattle has a large geek culture, so providing a place for them to gather, drink coffee, play games, and get whatever sweets they desire would work best for me. And, if someone needed an anime-themed or LOTR-themed wedding cake… Well, I could make it for them!

One unique idea I’ve had is to have the two-person tables or booths be Cocktail cabinets. I don’t know of any restaurant that has tried this, but I think it’ll be a beneficial thing. Not only will the ‘tables’ have a thick glass top that’s easy to clean, they will also provide entertainment and extra revenue for those who are bored.

Now, when researching companies that make arcade machines, the best deal I’ve found, so far, is via Quasimoto Interactive. I tried their products at Best Buy before, and fell in love. Most arcade machines for home use look like plasterboard, and seem to be at risk at falling over at the drop of a hat. I was impressed with this company’s well-crafted quality and inexpensive price, something that is rarely seen hand in hand anymore in ANY product. They have one-person cocktail cabinets, but a discussion with the company’s owner via e-mail showed me their desire for customer service and customer satisfaction goes above and beyond the call of duty when he offered to assist me in acquiring 2-4 person cocktail cabinets either thru them.

Overall, I think I’ve happily found the company my ‘tables’ will be purchased thru, when I get get closer to opening my doors. If anyone is looking for that perfect holiday gift for the geek in their life, look into Quasimoto yourself! After all, what geek doesn’t dream of being surprised for their birthday, holiday gift, or wedding with their very own arcade machine? No more quarters at the arcade, and you can play as long as you want! Not a bad deal all around, if I may say so myself.

But, what kind of an article would this be without a recipe? All this talk of video games has got me hungry for some easy gamer snacks! Yes, let’s make Peanut Butter Cookies! We start by combining 1 Cup Smooth Peanut Butter with 1 Cup Sugar, mixing the ingredients together well. Once mixed, stir in 1 Egg, Beaten and 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract. Once mixed together, roll the dough into 1/2 inch balls and set on an ungreased cookie sheet. Using a fork dipped in flour, Mash the ball down in one direction, then turn the fork and mash down once more. It should make a tic-tac-toe pattern on the top of the cookie. Finally, bake in a 350 degree F oven for 10 minutes. let them cool for about 3-4 minutes before moving from the cookie sheet to a cooling rack.

There we go! Short, sweet, and easy when in a pinch! I hope you all have a wonderful Shabbat weekend, and I will be back next week with Thanksgiving side dishes, more Kashrut alerts, and the upcoming KOSHER COOKING CARNIVAL one week from today! So, until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

November 10, 2006. advice, dessert, Kosher Cooking Carnival, recipes, snacks.

One Comment

  1. muse replied:

    Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

