News and Salad… The Lunch of Champions!

Well, it’s time for another article! First off, let’s look at a new book to b published, Harry Potter and Torah, that ‘is a a collection of Jewish
insights into themes raised in the Harry Potter series’
. I dunno, I’ll have to look into it to see if it’s good or not. I’ve also been spending a lot of time on Chef Club.Net as of late… I encurage other food bloggers to join me over there as it’s a nifty BBS for foodies! One of my recipes is in a contest for $150 worth of cooking equipment, so… Yeah!

Also, in the news front, I want to share this story about a woman suing Kraft foods. Apparently she found out their guacamole dip didn’t have almost ANY avocado in it. While i do think this is an example of our sue-happy times, I also wag my finger at Kraft for this misdeed. Shame on you!

Also, some BIG news happened yesterday that will likely explode onto the blogospere. The American Conservative Rabbinical Council allowing gays into Rabbinical schools. Also, the same descion solidified that lesbianism is NOT against Torah, and that Gay males who are BORN gay are exempt from that law. Of course, if gay marriage comes from this, then gay & lesbian couples WILL be expected to live up to the other 613 laws. You know, no sex before marriage, having kids (Adoption is still having kids!), keeping kosher… So, I fully support this, myself. I believe in equal rights for all, and fully hope this begins the end to this fighting in a generation or so. But then, I’ve always been a bit too liberal for my own good.

So, I’ve been in a salad mood, as of late. Playing around in the kitchen, I came up with a new creation: Rice & Kidney Bean Salad! We start with 2 Cups Brown Rice, Cooked & Cooled, 1 (15 1/2 oz) Can Red Kidney beans, Drained & Rinsed, 1 Golden Delicious or Granny Smith Apple, Cored & Sliced Julienne-style, 1 Large Firm Avocado, Pitted, Peeled, & Cubed, 1/2 Cup Red Bell Pepper, Sliced Into Strips, 1/3 Cup Red or White Onions, Diced, & 1/4 Cup Fresh Parsley and mix it together in a large mixing bowl.In a seperate bowl, stir together 1/4 Cup Thousand Island Dressing, 2 Tablespoons Virgin Olive Oil, 1 Tablespoon Vinegar, 1 Teaspoon Mustard, 4 Teaspoons Lemon Juice, & Salt & Pepperto taste. Pour the dressing over the first bowl, and then lightly toss to coat all the salad. Cover with cellophane and chill in the fridge for 1-2 hours before serving to let all the flavors meld together. Toss lightly again before serving, and it should make 8 side salads for any table.

Anyhow, I hope you all have fun! Next week is latkes for the festival of lights! So, until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

December 8, 2006. Jewish Links, News, Personal, recipes, salad.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

