More News, Jobs, and Another Salad!

We start this article with… A Kashrut Alert! Brivais Vilnis Fish Products are bearing an unauthorized OU symbol and are being withdrawn from the marketplace. Consumers spotting these products are requested to contact the Orthodox Union IMMEDIATELY! I also am glad to hear that the Menorah in Orange County was replaced, and people of all faiths came together to celebrate it’s re-lighting. For those that don’t know, last year vandals attacked the menorah and smashed parts of it in a hateful attack. My prayers also go out to those Catholics effected by the desecration of their Jesus statue. The man thought to be responsible was caught & arraigned, but is currently out on bail. I hope that, if found guilty, they receive the full punishment the law can provide. Vandalism and disrespect of ANY religion is NEVER any good, and we here at RKC hope our Catholic brothers and sisters the best of luck weathering this storm.

Also, on the job front, Aish International is looking for part-time (5-15 hrs p/w) follow-up
callers for Project Inspire, a worldwide initiative aimed at encouraging frum people to get involved in easy, highly effective outreach campaigns. You will be responsible for calling people who sign up on the Project Inspire website, reminding them of upcoming campaigns, as well as providing outreach coaching and encouragement for all new registrants. Although Prior Kiruv experience is a real advantage, we will provide full training. However, you must be highly-motivated, positive, able to demonstrate excellent people skills and have a great phone manner. To apply for this and to see more of their current vacancies, please log
on to vocaishion.com.

Now, Sunday when I was pseudo-catering, there was a salad I made that went over VERY well! Even those that disliked beets came up asking for the recipe! So, for my beloved congregation that has taken the wife & me in, I want to present it. And, a rarity anymore, I’ll even write it in the ‘traditional’ style. But, I also want to note it’s inspired in part by Marlena Spieler and her own beet recipe. I’ve modified it up, and I like how it turned out. She also gave some good suggestions that I want to try, as well. But, let’s get to the recipe!

Renegade-Style Beet Salad

6 Cans of Shoestring Beets, Drained Completely
1 oz. Fresh Mint
1 Chopped Onion
1 oz. Fresh Dill
The Freshly Squeezed Juice of 1 Lemon
1/8 cup Balsamic Vinegar
1/8 cup Virgin Olive Oil
Sugar to Taste

Start with the drained beet shoestrings and and pour them into a large bowl.

Now, in your food processor, add in the Mint, Onion, Dill, Lemon Juice, Balsamic Vinegar, and Virgin Olive Oil. Blend in pulses until the mixture has the consistency and color of a rich pesto.

Once blended, toss the pesto into the beets. Mix until the pesto-like dressing covers all of the beet shoestrings.

Start mixing in the sugar in small doses, tasting the salad each time until it reaches a level you like. At first, the lemon juice is going to make it bitter, but the stirred in sugar will combine with the mint and dill to make it sweeter.

Eventually, you’ll get a taste you like, and you can cover the salad before letting it ‘age’ in the fridge for a few hours before serving. This time is good because it allows the salad to mingle and share all the flavors. This light, refreshing salad worked well against the greasy latkes, and I think it’d make a good addition to any seder, as well!

Now, in e-mailing her for permission to use my modification on my blog, she gave some handy tips. First, she suggested using the vacuum-packed shelf-stable cooked beets, if you can afford them. She also suggested chopping the beets up into a relish and eating it with a garlic toast spread with soft goats cheese, a tasty treat I happily admit to having tried, myself. In closing, go buy some of Marlena Spieler’s books! She is a wonderful author and cook, and you can’t help but learn from her when reading one! Anyhow, until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

December 19, 2006. Jewish Links, News, recipes, salad, seder.

3 Comments

  1. TikkunGer replied:

    I just found your blog an love it! in fact i am going to addid to short but growing Kosher list. would mind adding me to your blogroll?

    be well

  2. TikkunGer replied:

    Oh my i need to proofread before commenting!

    I meant to say:

    I just found your blog and love it. In fact I am going to add you to my fledgling Kosher links section. Hope you can add me to yours.

  3. AuntieK replied:

    Thanks for publishing the recipe. It was tasty!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

