American Staples Meet Japanese Flavors!

When one of my cooking experiments turns out RIGHT, it makes me quite happy. This was the case last night when I brought out the ol’ slow cooker. I had a pot roast that I’d been itching to use… But, alas, no makings for beef gravy to help it cook! What to do, what to do! It’s then that my brain started clicking and turning, and I came up with an idea for a Japanese-Influenced Pot Roast! Rolling up my sleeves, I got to work on this tasty dish!

We begin with a 3-4 lb. Boneless Roast. Setting it into the slow cooker, we next want to add 1 16 oz. Bag of Frozen Stir Fry Vegetables. Now, we need some flavoring, don’t we? I added 1/2 Cup Rice Wine (cooking sake) and 1/2 cup Soy Sauce. Next I added 1 Teaspoon Fresh Minced Ginger and 1 Teaspoon Sesame Oil before topping it all with 2 Cups Warm Water. Covering, I cooked it on LOW for 6-8 hours, then strained off the juices to make into a gravy. I then served the veggies and sliced beef on a bed of mashed potatoes with the Asian juices turned into a dairy-free gravy. All in all, a WONDERFUL dinner that my wife and I loved! Just goes to prove that ANYTHING can be changed and modified!

Now, before I go, I want to address something that happens ANY time I use Rice Wine or Sake in a recipe. Every time, I always get comments or e-mails screaming about how rice wine isn’t kosher. To those folks, I wag my finger in shame for not knowing your kosher laws! I direct you now to the Star-K and their article on ‘Is Rice Wine Kosher?‘. So, please no more e-mails or comments yelling at me for using a KOSHER product to make KOSHER food, okay? Ah, well. Until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

January 4, 2007. main courses, recipes.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

