A Return to Lamb…

So, it’s time for ANOTHER article! And, with ANY article these days, we seem to open with a Kashrut Alert! The Avon Chanukah Tin with Hard Mint Candy (UPC# 9400012552) was represented in Avon Catalogues as being OU certified. It is not certified kosher by the Orthodox Union. Shame on you, Avon! I’ve always thought so highly of your products!

Also, people can now visit this site to vote for their favored Jblog for the JIB awards. As they are using the ratings over the past year to choose the winner, I fully expect The Kosher Blog to win. Though I am still amused that almost all the other nominees are friends or those I read. Nifty!

Now, with Pesach starting to come near, folks are already starting to plan those seder meals. Now, I already have requested my guest Seder blogger for this year, Gluten-Free by the bay, to write me an article. So it should be interesting to see an entire GF Seder meal! Something to look forward to in the months to come. But I wanted to look at something a bit more traditional and have some lamb.

Lamb, as we all know, is one of the main staples on any Seder plate. Well, the lamb shank, anyhow… But, I am one of those that thinks that at least ONE of the two meals should be meat & the other dairy. As such, let’s look over another favorite lamb dish of mine: Honey-Basted Lamb with Gravy. Yes, taking the popular way to cook ham, and using it on a lamb roast! Don’t give me that look! It turns out delicious! Let me show you how it’s done…

We begin by lining the roasting pan with aluminum foil. This will catch all the juices later for gravy-making. Mmmmm… Next, we need a 6 pd. Leg of Lamb. I leave the bone in as we’ll need it for the plate, anyhow. In a small dish, mix together 1 Teaspoon Fresh Ginger, 1 Teaspoon Kosher Salt, and 1/4 Teaspoon Freshly Ground Pepper. This is going to be a dry rub we’ll use to coat the lamb with lightly. Next we want to set the lamb into the foil-lined pan with the fatty side UP! Finally, sprinkle on some Dried Rosemary to taste and start baking uncovered in a 325°F oven for 60 minutes.

Now, we next need to combine 1 Cup Hard Apple Cider and 2/3 Cup Honey as our lamb bakes. Once baked, pull it out and baste the lamb with the honey & cider mixture before popping it in for 90 minutes (Or until the internal temperature reaches 160°F. You DO have a meat thermometer, yes?). Every 30 minutes or so, I also like to open it up and baste the lamb with the juices collected in the pan, just to keep it moist and fresh.

Once we reach the desired temperature, take the lamb out of the pan and let it REST on a platter for a good 20-30 minutes before carving out our shank bone. Meanwhile, we have all these pan juices for a Gravy! Separate them from the fat, and collect 2 Cups Pan Juices before putting it into a small sauce pan over Medium-Low heat. Mix together 2 Tablespoons Cornstarch and 2 Tablespoons White Wine before adding it to your warming drippings. Now, whisk the mixture until thickened. Whatever happens, do NOT stop whisking! It should take about 6-7 minutes of cooking and whisking, but your patience will be rewarded with a thick & hearty gravy. If you want, the gravy recipe can be doubled & tripled easily, as EVERYONE loves gravy. Just double or triple up the ingredients, if you have the drippings for it.

Anyhow, I hope that this gets folks interested in ideas for the coming holiday. Me, I’m not looking forward to THE CLEANING! My Seders have been called for already, this year. The first night I will be with my Rabbi, and the second night I FULLY expect to be in my temple’s kitchens cooking. Hmmm, i winder if Rabbi will ask me to make this for him… He does love his lamb! Anyhow, until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

January 18, 2007. Kashrut Alerts, main courses, recipes, seder.

3 Comments

  1. Lisa replied:

    Sounds very yum, but out of curiosity, where do you get kosher leg of lamb??

  2. Steven replied:

    I call up Mr. Kosher Butcher, & have them get me it special order, as I do with most my preferred cuts of meat.

  3. revkasedoggy replied:

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

