We return to brisket…

Brisket and I have a love/hate relationship. Anyone who has been reading me for a while knows this. So, when I can customize new ways to cook brisket, I do. This is intended to be a wonderful dinner to ring in Shabbat, and it is my hope that you enjoy this dish.

Today’s revision of brisket is something men the world love: Barbecue. We start with your standard brisket cut, but and good cut of beef will do well with this. I estimate about 1/3 a pound per person eating the roast, but you might want a little more if its a fatty cut (Or if guests drop by after services!). We start by slow roasting it to tenderize it the night before. If you’re using brisket, cook it in a pan of water covered in foil at 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) for an hour. Then drop the heat to 200 degrees F (100 degrees C) and cook it for another 6-8 hours. After cooking, just put it in the fridge to set overnight. I know, you WANT to remove that foil, but DON’T! Trust me, okay?

The next day, start up a wood chip fire in your grill. I recommend apple or maple, as I like the flavors they bring to the mix. As this fire gets roaring, then burns dfown to coals, we turn to our meat. Remove the beef from the pan and slice it into thin slices. Set it aside for now, and then pour EVERYTHING else, dripping and all, into a saucepan. Liquify it over low heat, then add in 1 Medium Sweet Onion, Diced, 1 Can Diced Tomatos, Tobasco Sauce to taste & Barbeque sauce to taste. If you like kick, go to town. But I reccomend using a milder sauce to try this out with.

Once the sauce is ready, lay the slices of beef into the pan again, the cover ALL of it with your new sauce. Cover with new foil, add ventilation holes in the foil, then take it out to the grill. By now, your coals should be down to just glowing embers. We’re going to set the pan RIGHT on the coals, and slow smoke for an hour or two. Make SURE that the temp stays low. The coals should slay glowing & cooking, but no flame. And don’t be afraid to add more wood to the fire. After the 1-2 hours, take the pan to the table, remove the VERY HOT foil, and have a wonderful dinner!

A variation I like to do with this is to prepare the first stage a day before a camping trip. Then I just bring it in a cooler, set it up in a dutch oven over the fire, and cook it up for a hearty dinner at the campsite. 🙂 I recommend baked potatoes, corn on the cob, and a cold dairy-free pasta salad to go as side dishes with this dinner. I hope everyone enjoys this recipe! Until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

October 4, 2007. main courses, recipes.

One Comment

  1. Amber replied:

    Sounds like a great way to do brisket, I’ll have to try it(hubby’s always trying to get me to cook one on the grill). I usually cook my brisket in a slow cooker with 1/2 cup Claude’s Brisket Sauce(no hesher yet but they assure me they’re looking for a rabbi to come to their facilities), 1/2 cup KC Masterpiece Original BBQ Sauce and some sliced jalapeños(the pickled type you use on nachos, 3-5 rings for some nice flavor or more for flavor with a little heat)and onion and salt/pepper to taste. Let it cook all day and by evening you can slice or shed it and serve with your favorite sides, mix in some more bbq sauce and make sandwiches, or wrap in a tortilla for a shredded brisket burrito.

    Thanks for posting so many wonderful recipes here, I appreciate all that you do.
    Amber

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

