Bread Bowls, French Onion Soup, & A Survey!

First off, I’m asking all of my readers to click here to take a survey about this blog. This is just something I’m doing to help figure out my reader stats, where they are coming from, and how to best serve you – my readers. Now, as for today’s recipe, its a basic recipe of sorts that ALWAYS goes over well. Today we’re going to explain how to make Sourdough Bread Bowls.

We begin by grabbing some Sourdough Bread Rounds from our favorite grocery store. To these we’re going to cut a hole in the top about 2-3 inches around, and scoop out the insides of the bowl. Try to leave about 1/2 inch of bread in the bottom. Next, we want to take some Olive Oil and lightly brush it ALL over the inside of the rolls, covering EVERY square inch if possible. Then, setting your prepared rolls on a cookie sheet, bake in a 350 degree F oven for about 20-25 minutes, or until the inside of the bread bowls are NICE and crispy.

Now we get to the FUN part! These bowls can be used for LOTS of dishes. One of my favorite uses of these inexpensive rounds is to fill them with salad or a dinner soup. But, the most COMMON use of these bowls is in making French Onion Soup.

French Onion Soup

6 Cups Chopped Yellow Onions
1/3 Cup Margarine
8 Cups Vegetable Bouillon (Or Beef-Flavoured Vegitarian Bouillon is preferred if you can get it.)
2 Teaspoons Salt
1/2 Cup Sugar
4 Tablespoons Flour
Cognac
White Cheeses Such as Mozzarella, Swiss, etc.

Cook onions slowly in a large cast iron skillet in the margarine until combined. Then cover and simmer over medium heat for 15 minutes.

To a crock pot, add in the bouillon and set it to HIGH. Then stir in ALL the contents of the cast iron skillet after the 15 minuters is up, stirring well. Finally, add in the sugar, salt, & flour and cover. Cook on HIGH for 3 hours, or LOW for 6 to 8 hours.

When ready to serve, pour 1 tablespoon of cognac into the bottom of each bread bowl, then top with hot soup. Finally, top the bread bowls with your favorite white cheeses & bake in a 425 degree F oven for 15-20 minutes.

Move to plates and serve still warm.
Serves 12

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 157 g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

335
Calories from Fat

101
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

11.2g
17%

Saturated Fat

3.9g
20%

Cholesterol

11mg
4%

Sodium

1660mg
69%

Total Carbohydrates

39.4g
13%

Dietary Fiber

1.8g
7%
Sugars

13.6g
Protein

10.7g

Vitamin A 6% Vitamin C 6%
Calcium 22% Iron 10%
Nutrition Grade C-
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, nummy. I hope you all enjoy this recipe, and using bread bowls to help make ANY meal special! Also, please fill out the survey to help me out with needed information! Until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

December 11, 2007. bread, main courses, Personal, recipes, salad, side dishes.

4 Comments

  1. Michele replied:

    Apparently we do not have a current email address for you either. Since I am not able to make long distance calls from my job, this was the only way I could leave you message that as of 2:16 this morning, your package was in route to your house. Your dad and I are very upset that this snafu took so long to get straight, but hopefully by this afternoon, you will be in possession of this long awaited package.

    Michele & Dad

  2. denimshirtsonya replied:

    Hey there Steven. I do not know if you will remember me, but my name is Sonya. When you knew me, my last name would have been Bennett. You and I went to high school together. The last time we saw each other would have been in 1997 when we were both crashing at David Ethridge’s house. If you do remember me, I would love to hear from you.

  3. denimshirtsonya replied:

    Oh, I forgot to enclose my email address. It is xix_sunrose_xix@yahoo.com. I also wanted to say I like the site…there are definitely some recipes here I would like to try.

    Sunny Rose

  4. AshleyRoz replied:

    I wonder if a mushroom base or bullion would taste good. I’ll have to try it with this recipe.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

