To roast or not to Roast, That is the Question…

Well, to start with, let’s get the latest Kashrut alert out of the way. De Boles Gluten Free Rice Pasta and Cheese bears an unauthorized OU symbol and is not certified as kosher by the Orthodox Union. This product is being withdrawn from the marketplace. Individuals spotting this product are requested to contact the Orthodox Union.

Also, I was sent a link for the KCC, but I wanted to share it here. It seems there’s a new essay running around about if Thanksgiving is Kosher or not. Now, I talked to my Rabbi about it, and he was rather informative. Apparently there is a ruling that Jews are not supposed to do things Gentiles do. BUT, there’s nothing wrong with having a big family dinner. In fact, that’s what we’re SUPPOSED to do on Shabbos! The benefit of Turkey day is it’s like Shabbos, only the more orthodox can have their lights & electricity and the like. His suggestion is if Jews are REALLY worried, they could just on it the cornucopia centerpieces for their table. But then, we’re Progressive Conservative, so discuss with YOUR rabbi on his or her feelings on this matter, okay?

Now, most my readers in the US of A are likely getting ready for Thanksgiving! Turkey Day! Cooking Turkey! Ah, what a wonderful treat! I am a passionate fan of roasting turkey (As is most of Israel what with 28 pds. of turkey eaten by each person, on average, each year!) Now, I hate to say it, but the recipe -I- use for roasting turkey is not mine. You see, my wife has a slight obsession with Alton Brown. Every time I cook she likes to mention, “That’s nice, but ALTON does it THIS way!” While this is a major irk of mine, one recipe he did, in my opinion, is the best way to roast a turkey. His method of preparing a roast turkey is a method I’ve yet to have problems with, and is even in-laws approved! ^^

So, the next recipe article is going to be full of all those traditional recipes everyone wants for turkey day, okay? And, next week is also the Kosher Cooking Carnival! Remember to get your recipes/links in to me by the 15th to be in the KCC, okay? Drop me an e-mail at steven-at-renegadekosher-dot-com with the info to be added! Anyhow, until next time, Shalom and Good Cooking!

November 8, 2006. Jewish Links, Kashrut Alerts, Kosher Cooking Carnival, main courses. Leave a comment.